St Stephen the Great: the Brewers’ carelessness or deceit?
Despite the facts that
- St Stephen the Great Charitable Trust appears to be a company which is applying (very dubiously) for chapter 11 protection in the US, although a registered charity in the UK, and
- The licence for St Stephen the Great to use the SPCK name was withdrawn as of November 1st 2007
as of the time stamp of this posting, the website of SSGCT is still inviting innocent and gullible punters to part with their hard-earned dosh. They make this request still as “An Appeal of the SPCK Bookshops”.
Is this just being careless and sloppy – “Oh sorry, we haven’t got round to updating our website in the last nine months” or is it evidence of deliberate deceit? Do not believe the following image taken from the same page:

August 2nd, 2008 at 9:14 pm
There are other SSG-related sites which require updating such as:
http://thirdspacebooks.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=35&Itemid=49
some of the updates are very recent so it is not as if it is a dormant site
August 3rd, 2008 at 12:36 am
I asked Philip Brewer to clarify this back in January: see my message to him here. His reply: “Regarding the SPCK question, we are in discussions with them and therefore prefer to not comment on this query.” Presumably, therefore, the discussions are still ongoing… but I wouldn’t presume to comment on how likely that really is: he might make like his brother and try to SLAPP me down…
It’s very strange, looking back: we’d had some quite civil exchanges and then, bang! Heavy handed ‘C&D’ messages. Bizarre is the word.