Aug 03
The Mark Brewer Saga: weirder than you think
A couple of weeks ago I noted my confusion. Posting from one email address someone claiming to be Mark Brewer had left a comment. Posting from another email address someone claiming to be Mark Brewer claimed the first person calling himself Mark Brewer was an impostor.
Mat Wardman had the brilliantly obvious idea (well, obvious once he said it) of checking the IP addresses of the two comments. So I did, and both resolved to the same IP address! I did a whois search on it and, guess what, it was registered
Logix Communications, Inc
BREWER & PRITCHARD PC.
The evidence, then, appears to point to Mark Brewer using one email address to claim that he is not himself when he uses a different one.

August 3rd, 2008 at 1:40 pm
Doug, could you please email me at tim DOT chesterton AT gmail DOT com
Thanks.
Tim
August 3rd, 2008 at 2:59 pm
Aha! Mark Brewer is actually Tim Chesterton.
August 3rd, 2008 at 4:22 pm
Deeply disturbing. By the way, does anyone know Mark Brewer’s birthdate?
August 3rd, 2008 at 4:58 pm
Iyov, I’m afraid I don’t want a link to that search engine on my site, so visitors will have to go to your site to appreciate your wicked sense of humour
August 3rd, 2008 at 8:32 pm
Iyov, I’m afraid I don’t want a link to that search engine on my site, so despite the humour I’ve edited out the link. But I believe in principle that giving everyone access to criminal record databases works against the principle of rehabilitation into society, and potentially encourages vigilantism.
Well, I agree with you, but the search engine has now been discussed in the New York Times, so it is hardly a secret.
August 3rd, 2008 at 10:49 pm
And that’s what happens in the weird wired world when I edit a comment while someone else is commenting on the original version. It’s enough to drive a source critic to distraction.
August 3rd, 2008 at 11:35 pm
Well, I don’t know what you guys are talking about but I’m taking down the me-cat-a-holic blog before something goes seriously awry.
August 4th, 2008 at 1:08 am
Scaredy cat!
August 4th, 2008 at 10:09 pm
How did you do that, please, Doug? I’ve got the IP address for my MB comments but can’t figure out what to do it. I’ve found sites that will resolve it to a country, even to a town, for me, but how did you track back to Brewer & Pritchard?
August 5th, 2008 at 7:19 pm
I used one of the whois services, I think ARIN. Just google whois IP and you’ll find a site that lets you do it.
August 6th, 2008 at 12:07 am
Ta. The ARIN one tells me it’s Houston anyway, so I guess that’s near enough for now: confirms it wasn’t anyone here playing games. And he hasn’t issued any denials either. Bizarre that he seems to want to deny the one thing that demonstrates a touch of humanity in there somewhere…
August 7th, 2008 at 12:28 pm
There is a lot of identity confusion here. In another place SSG are trading as 40 dead Christians from the 4th century (http://www.bengallagher.com/blog/2008/08/a-miracle/). Maybe that’s why he’s been sending ‘I am Mark Brewer’ emails to Madpriest - it’s a kind of ‘note to self’ thing to remember who he is.
August 8th, 2008 at 3:29 am
[...] I would like to think that all of the weird stories relating to the Brewer vs. SSG vs. SPCK saga had been found. However, Doug, over at MetaCatholic, has furthered the bizarre events by discovering this. [...]
August 8th, 2008 at 6:40 am
Perhaps he’s impersonating himself, and doesn’t know it. The whole thing gets more and more bizarre.
August 8th, 2008 at 7:36 am
Well I did try to tell you.